May Mini Reviews

Eat Up! – Ruby Tandoh

Eat Up

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book but decided to take a chance on it after reading some great reviews. It’s hard to categorise this book as Ruby discusses a wide variety of societal problems, linking them all via food culture. The writing is beautiful and I’d definitely encourage you to read it.


Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters – Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson

I can see why these books are so popular and I wish I’d read them when I was younger as I would have been addicted to them. The writing is fast-paced and engaging, and the characters and world-building are incredible. Can’t wait for the next book.


The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy – Tim Burton

The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy

I’m not quite sure what I just read but I really enjoyed it. This book consists of a collection of short poems that could only have come from the wonderfully weird mind of Tim Burton.


The Suffragettes – Various

I received this little book from a friend and it was a great introduction to the Suffragette movement. 


Goblin Market – Christina Rossetti

I don’t read a huge amount of poetry but I’ve always been fascinated by the imagery of Goblin Market. These Penguin Little Black Classics make ideal gifts too.


Kim – Rudyard Kipling

Kim by Rudyard Kipling

My latest book on Serial Reader is required reading for my MA and I really loved it. The writing style was engaging and I flew through it. Definitely a classic for a reason.


Royals – Rachel Hawkins

Royals by Rachel Hawkins

I won this in a twitter giveaway and decided to pick it up because of the Royal Wedding. It was so much fun and just what I needed to lift my mood. Looking forward to the next book in the series.


The Innocent Wife – Amy Lloyd

The Innocent Wife by Amy Lloyd

For me, this was one of those books I just didn’t click with. The premise sounded great and I think the book could have been brilliant. Something felt a little off and the ending wasn’t as spectacular as it could have been. I would definitely read more by this author though as the potential was promising.


It’s All In Your Head – Rae Earl

It's All In Your Head by Rae Earl

Aimed at teenagers, this guide to mental health issues should be mandatory in every school library. This book needs to get into the hands of the people that need it most as it’s incredible. The author has numerous mental health issues so the text never feels patronising. Highly recommended.


Caraval – Stephanie Garber

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I reread this in preparation for the release of Legendary and really glad I did since I’d forgotten so much. It’s a very quick read and the setting is fantastic. Perfect for fans of The Night Circus and Daughter of the Burning City.


Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse – Rick Riordan

I was looking for something easy to read so picked up the third Percy Jackson book and wasn’t disappointed. Another fun adventure with the addition of some great characters. 


The Art & Making of the Greatest Showman – Signe Bergstrom

This is a lovely coffee-table book filled with stunning artwork and photographs from the film. The superficial text doesn’t add much to the experience though.


Only Human – Sylvain Neuvel

Only Human

Sleeping Giants remains my favourite of the trilogy but I enjoyed this final book as it wrapped up as many loose threads as possible. Not quite as gripping as the first two, unfortunately.


Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow

Get the latest posts via email: