REVIEW: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

“To the people who look at the stars and wish, Rhys.”
Rhys clinked his glass against mine. “To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”

I thought ACOTAR was good and then I read ACOMAF. This book was absolutely amazing – I can’t stop thinking about it. It’s definitely become one of my favourite books. Sarah J. Maas expanded the world building from the first book and we were introduced to the Night Court, the Court of Nightmares, and the Summer Court. If you thought the Spring Court was beautiful, just wait until you read about the magnificent Night Court. This is one of those fictional places I would love to visit.

“There are good days and hard days for me—even now. Don’t let the hard days win.”

Sarah J. Maas creates characters that feel real to the reader. After reading ACOMAF, it felt like I knew all the characters and their complex lives. Every character is crafted to be an individual and none feel unnecessary.  Maas’ writing manipulates the reader into identifying with each character and experiencing whatever emotions they’re experiencing. Aside from Feyre, my favourite characters were Nesta and Rhysand (could he be the perfect book boyfriend?!). I also loved getting to know Rhys’s inner circle and look forward to reading about what happens to each of them.

“The Court of Dreams. The people who knew that there was a price, and one worth paying, for that dream. The bastard- born warriors, the Illyrian half breed, the monster trapped in a beautiful body, the dreamer born into a court of nightmares … And the huntress with an artist’s soul.”

The romance scenes are incredibly well written and definitely make you swoon. But the darker scenes exploring the emotional consequences of Feyre’s actions Under the Mountain and the backstories of the Inner Circle are so emotive. The story is paced just right and I couldn’t put it down. ACOMAF is perfect for fans of YA, magic and romance. This is honestly the best YA book I’ve read in a very long time.

A must-read sequel that is even better than the first book – come visit the Night Court and witness Starfall…

(Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads)

  About the Author

 SARAH J. MAAS is the New York Timesbestselling author of the Throne of Glass series: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, Empire of Storms, and the series’ prequel, The Assassin’s Blade; and the Court of Thorns and Roses series: A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury. A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. 

SaveSave

0 Shares

1 Comment

  1. Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag - Scorpio Book Dreams

    July 14, 2017 at 11:01 AM

    […] Check out my review here: A Court Of Mist And Fury […]

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow

Get the latest posts via email: