WWW Wednesday: 07 July 2021

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Taking On A World of Words. All you have to do is answer the three Ws and leave your link on the main blog.


What are you currently reading?

I’ve just begun Velvet Was the Night by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, a noir set in 1970s Mexico City. I’ve fallen in love with this author’s writing style and how effortlessly she moves between genres. I’m also re-reading Mansfield Park on Serial Reader as it’s been years since my last re-read. Austen is the ultimate comfort read for me. I only read Still Life by Sarah Winman last month but I’m already rereading as I absolutely adored it.


What did you recently finish reading?

The last book I finished was These Hollow Vows by Lexi Ryan. This is a Fae-inspired YA fantasy with a Cinderella twist and is perfect for fans of ACOTAR. Before that, I read Hope Nicely’s Lessons for Life by Caroline Day. Hope has Foetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and her voice is one of the most distinctive I’ve ever read. I also recently read Witchshadow by Susan Dennard. I love this series but this was probably the weakest one for me.


What do you think you’ll read next?

I think I might read Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim next as I have a copy arriving this month. I’m also trying to read eARCs of physical books I have preordered so that I can cancel any I don’t love so I’m hoping to read The Hand of the Sun King by J.T. Greathouse. Another ARC I want to read is The Origins of Iris by Beth Lewis.


What are you currently reading? Are there any books you’ve recently finished that you’d recommend? What’s up next on your TBR?

1 Comment

  1. wonderfilledreads

    7 July 2021 at 5:11 PM

    I’m sorry to hear Witchshadow was the weakest of the series so far. That’s such a shame since it takes FOREVER between book releases for Dennard. I can’t remember anything that happened previously so I’m going to reread the series before I can pick this one up.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow

Get the latest posts via email: